Moscow Kremlin

Kremlin is the most famous landmark of the city of Moscow. For many years, the Kremlin was the center of the state and the center of power in Russia. The country ruled from the Kremlin by Russian tsars. The Kremlin houses the residence of the President of the Russian Federation. Nowadays, most of the tourists coming to Moscow come to Red Square and visit the Moscow Kremlin.

The Kremlin is located on the left bank of the Moskva River, on Borovitsky Hill. The Kremlin is the oldest part of Moscow, surrounded by a fortress wall. The first fortifications on the site of the Kremlin built in the 11th century. Initially, the fortifications made of wood. In 1367 (during the reign of Prince Dmitry Donskoy), instead of wooden walls, fortress walls built of white stone.

In the second half of the 15th century (during the reign of Ivan III), the Kremlin rebuilt. The construction carried out under the guidance of Italian architects. Fired red bricks used to build the walls and towers. Construction work on the territory of the Kremlin continued for many centuries. In 1812, Moscow and the Kremlin captured by Napoleon’s army. The French army entered the Kremlin on September 2, 1812, but soon left Moscow due to the outbreak of a fire. The Kremlin badly damaged. In 1917, the government of the communists who came to power was located in the Kremlin. During the existence of the USSR, a large number of historical buildings destroyed in the Kremlin.
In 1935-1937, five-pointed stars made of red glass installed on five towers. There are proposals to remove these stars from the Kremlin towers. In 1990, the Kremlin included in the UNESCO World Heritage List

More photos in our gallery-